Archive

Jul 27, 2013

Review: Kashi - Dark Chocolate Coconut Layered Granola Bars

Kashi's Dark Chocolate Coconut Layered Granola Bars provide a chewy granola bar featuring the brand's trademark blend of seven whole grains with a layer of dark chocolate mixed with dates, topped with dried coconut and peanuts.

A 6.7-ounce box of six 1.1-ounce bars retails for about $3.89.

As far as granola bars go, the granola portion of this one tastes fairly run-of-the-mill and like most chewy granola I've eaten. It's decent but not very interesting.

The interesting part is the dark chocolate-date layer. It offers hints of each ingredient, but the richness of neither. The texture is smooth, but not chocolate smooth. Instead, it's a little gummy like a date paste. It's a novel flavor, but I would have preferred just plain dark chocolate.

The coconut flakes add a welcome and fairly prominent component for fans of Mounds or Almond Joy, but isn't nearly as sweet. The peanuts add a little extra flavor and crunch.

Overall, the coconut flakes and the dark chocolate-date layer keep Kashi's Dark Chocolate Coconut Layered Granola Bars from being ho-hum, but not by much.

Nutritional Info - Kashi Dark Chocolate Coconut Layered Granola Bars Bar
Serving Size - 1 bar (32g)
Calories - 120 (from Fat - 30)
Fat - 3g (Saturated Fat - 1.5g)
Sodium - 50mg
Carbs - 21g (Sugar - 7g)
Protein - 4g


Sharing
is Caring